City Zoning describes the control by city authority of the use of land, and of the buildings thereon. Areas of land are divided by appropriate authorities into zones within which various uses are permitted.  WSGAVR serves five cities: Alhambra, Monterey Park, Rosemead, San Gabriel, and Temple City.  Each of these cities has its own Planning Department to control the land use and buildings within the cities.